Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Work Bench > RockSim Asylum
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 03-02-2016, 07:30 PM
Retired with Way Too Many Kits

Default Open Rocket - Need Help with V-2 fins (tailcone issue)

I loaded a V-2 model I found in the Open Rocket desifn database, but it had no fins. I have created a fin profile using the freeform fin editor, but cannot get fins to drop from body tube diameter down to the tailcone. In the freeform editor, the graph of the fin shows a negative region on the graph, but points cannot be moved below the X-axis, or inward from the body tube to the tailcone.

I saw this issue raised by someone several years ago -- is it still an issue? Any workaround or suggestions appreciated. I'm pretty new to OR and have not had any issues building "conventional models", but this one has me stumped.

Projects: Semroc Saturn 1B, Ken Foss Designs Mini Satellite Interceptor
In the Paint Shop: Nothing! Too cold!
Launch-Ready: Farside-X, Maxi Honest John, Super Scamp
Old 03-02-2016, 07:59 PM
Born Late Rocketeer

I would love to be told I'm wrong, but I think OR simply cannot handle fins on boat tails. You can resort to trickery to make something that looks right, but it wouldn't sim right.
Syracuse Rocket Club

http://richsrockets.wordpress.com
Old 03-02-2016, 08:34 PM

Rich,

Thanks. I figured as much, but since I'm still learning, I was hoping there might be something I was overlooking. I thought about doing a stepped tailcone by using a series of smaller body tubes, and doing the fins in sections on their own body tubes, and then decided that was WAY more work than I wanted to do.

I trimmed the fins to scale, so I'll likely just add more nose weight to play it safe.

Old 03-02-2016, 11:10 PM
Flying since 1977