Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Work Bench > Projects
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 07-07-2021, 10:28 PM
Old Submariner

Default Product test: Rustoleum filler primer

Personally, I love 3D printed parts--but the arthritis in my knuckles makes me HATE sanding them. Therefore, I'm going to do a test on filling them smooth instead of sanding them smooth.

The product I'm trying is Rustoleum gray filler primer #249279. I've never used it before so I know nothing about the results. The object I'm testing it on will be one of the spare 3D printed fins that came with the Boyce Pershing 1A builder's kit.

Stay tuned!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:  IMG_1609.JPG
Views: 43
Size:  63.6 KB  Click image for larger version

Name:  IMG_1611.JPG
Views: 33
Size:  62.0 KB  

4 out of 3 people struggle with math.

Chemically, alcohol IS a solution.

NAR# 94042
SAM# 0078
Old 07-07-2021, 11:13 PM
Craftsman

That's what I used on my boyce pershing. BTW, if this is the BT-101 kit, the recommended CG of 3" back from the end of the tube is incorrect, they did not model it in rocksim/openrocket, my first flight took a hard right about 100' up, I built a sim and using rocksim stability which I trust after many many pershings of all sizes have been flown, I'm recommending 1" back from the forward end of the body tube as a starting CG. They did not use the same size fins as the maxi kit, they are smaller, the only sim I found on rocketreviews mistakenly uses 4 fins instead of 3 which is also quite wrong.

My CP shows to be about 25.64" from the tip of the cone, I use about 1.3x stability for these, leading to CG at about 20.3" from the tip. His spec would be about 22.5 from the tip which is only .75