Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Work Bench > Vendors
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2009, 05:59 PM
panja12 panja12 is offline
Intermediate Rocketeer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Default what brands do you reccommend

guys, I know this question was asked somewhere on this website, but what rocket brands do you recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2009, 06:22 PM
luke strawwalker's Avatar
luke strawwalker luke strawwalker is offline
BAR
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Needville and Shiner, TX
Posts: 6,015
Default

Well, you probably know about Estes and Quest. They're the 'big two' so to speak. I have to say Quest has had a lot more interesting offerings until lately; now Estes seems to be coming back in a big way... They both make good motors BTW...

Semroc is terrific... they have a lot of REALLY cool kits, and a lot of them are the kits we remember from years ago from the likes of Estes and Centuri, though they do have a lot of their own designs. Their customer service is absolutely FIRST RATE and they are REALLY good folks to deal with.

Same goes for Apogee Rockets. They've got a lot of neat rockets and supplies, and top notch customer service, and they're good folks to deal with.

I LOVE Dr. Zooch Rockets-- his 'ant scale' (semiscale) kits aren't very difficult to build, but they ARE skill builders in that they'll help you sharpen and hone your modelling skills. The materials are first rate, the instructions are witty cartoons themselves, and the support is excellent... if you have a problem Wes (Dr. Zooch) will usually send you whatever you need to get it right for free. There's also some pretty innovative and interesting tricks you'll learn along the way...

There's a lot of other manufacturer's out there... among the best are squirrel works, pemberton technologies, fliskits, sunward, mad cow, sheri's hot rockets, etc... there are even MORE vendors out there than there are manufacturers....

Good luck-- you've got more to choose from right now than we've EVER HAD in the history of rocketry!!!! OL JR
__________________
The X-87B Cruise Basselope-- THE Ultimate Weapon in the arsenal of Homeland Security and only $52 million per round!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2009, 06:54 PM
Doug Sams's Avatar
Doug Sams Doug Sams is offline
Old Far...er...Rocketeer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Plano, TX resident since 1998.
Posts: 3,966
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panja12
guys, I know this question was asked somewhere on this website, but what rocket brands do you recommend?
You might as well ask us our favorite desserts - you're gonna get as many different answers

There are quite a few I like, but I'll list only one: Squirrel Works. Why? They're the only one selling one of my designs
http://www.squirrel-works.com/catalog/tuber/tuber.html

Doug

.
__________________
YORF member #11
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2009, 07:26 PM
Les Les is offline
BAR 13790
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Johnson City, NY
Posts: 484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke strawwalker

There's a lot of other manufacturer's out there... among the best are squirrel works, pemberton technologies, fliskits, sunward, mad cow, sheri's hot rockets, etc... there are even MORE vendors out there than there are manufacturers....



Don't forget Sirius, Starlight, Custom, Starlight, Q Modeling, etc...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2009, 07:55 PM
kurtschachner's Avatar
kurtschachner kurtschachner is offline
Master Modeler
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Southeastern Wisconsin
Posts: 1,240
Default

AND don't forget FlisKits:

http://www.fliskits.com/

run by Jim Flis, a really nice guy.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2009, 09:16 PM
bacasino's Avatar
bacasino bacasino is offline
Toyaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The Desert, CA
Posts: 204
Default

AHHHH....Qmodeling's Andromeda....Expensive, but BEAUTIFUL.
__________________
http://public.fotki.com/bacasino/rockets/


http://public.fotki.com/bacasino/toyroom/

May Ye be In Heaven A Half An Hour Before The Devil Knows Yer Dead....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-2009, 10:47 PM
metlfreak metlfreak is offline
Craftsman
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 114
Default

Estes, Qmodeling, Aerotech, and Semroc.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-16-2009, 10:56 PM
shrox's Avatar
shrox shrox is offline
Master: Dark Art of Model Rocketry
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 929
Default

Quest is a good one too...
__________________
Shrox

Master of the Dark Art of Model Rocketry

www.shrox.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2009, 01:00 AM
RandyT0001's Avatar
RandyT0001 RandyT0001 is offline
NAR Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: In a state of confidence
Posts: 266
Default

Here is a list of rocket kit and components companies. Look at their websites and decide which best suits your needs based upon your preferences of style (scale, sport, retro, etc) and power level (LPR, MPR, HPR). Some are foreign companies based in Canada, the UK and Europe.

Advanced Rocketry Group http://www.argrockets.com/
American Alliance Rocketry (deleted due to no active website)
Aero Pack www.aeropack.net
Aerospace Specialty Products www.asp-rocketry.com
Aerotech www.aerotech-rocketry.com
Always Ready Rocketry www.alwaysreadyrocketry.com
Anchor Parachutes www.anchorparachutes.com
Art Applewhite www.artapplewhite.com
B2 Rocketry www.b2rocketry.com
Binder Design www.binderdesign.com
BMI Rocketry http://www.bmibay.net/rocketry.html
BSD Rocketry www.bsdrocketry.com
CNC Rings -n- Fins http://www.cnc-rings-fins.com
Cosmodrome Rocketry www.cosmodromerocketry.com
Custom Rocket Company http://www.customrocketcompany.com/
Cygnus Rocketry http://www.cygnusrocketry.com
DnD Rocketry www.dndrocketry.us
Dr. Zooch http://drzooch.com/
Edmonds Aerospace www.edmondsaerospace.com
Estes Industries www.estesrockets.com
Excelsior Rocketry www.excelsiorrocketry.com
Fade to Black http://members.buckeye-express.com/turbopig/index.htm
Fliskits www.fliskits.com
Fruity Chutes http://fruitychutes.com/
Giant Leap Rocketry www.giantleaprocketry.com
Hawk Mountain Enterprises www.hawkmountain.ws
High Tech Rocketry http://hightechrocketry.com/
Hot Rod Rocketshop http://www.hotrodrocketshop.com/HotrodHome.html
Impulse Construction http://members.cox.net/impulseaerospace/main.htm
Inflight Rockets http://www.inflightrockets.com/
K and S Rockets http://www.kandsrockets.com/index.htm
LOC Precision www.locprecision.com
Madcow Rocketry http://www.madcowrocketry.com/servlet/StoreFront
Mercury Engineering http://www.mercury-rockets.com/
MicroHybrid http://www.artapplewhite.com/microhybrid.html
Mile High Rockets www.milehighrockets.com/
Mountainside Hobbies http://www.mountainsidehobbies.net/
Neubauer Rocketry http://www.neubauerrockets.com
Newton'd 3rd Rocketry www.newtons3rdrocketry.com
Pemberton Technologies http://www.pembertontechnologies.com
Performance Rocketry www.performancerocketry.com
PML www.publicmissiles.com
Polecat Aerospace www.polecataerospace.com
Pratt Hobbies www.pratthobbies.com
Q Modelling www.qmodeling.com/
QCR www.cybertravelog.com/qcr/
Quasar One Custom Rockets www.quasaronerockets.com/index.html
Quest Aerospace www.questaerospace.com
Quickburst www.quickburst.net
Rail Buttons www.railbuttons.com/rb
Red River Rocketry http://redriverrocketry.com/
Rocket T-Shirts http://rockettshirts.com
RocketChutes www.rocketchutes.com/Index.htm
Rocketman Enterprises www.the-rocketman.com
Rowes Retainers www.rowesretainers.co.uk
SEMROC www.semroc.com
Sirius Rocketry www.siriusrocketry.com
Spherachutes http://spherachutes.com/
Squirrel Works, The www.squirrel-works.com
Starlight Rocketry http://www.starlightrocketry.com/
Sticker Shock 23 www.stickershock23.com/index_TPIC.html
Sunward Aerospace Group Limited www.sunward1.com
Tango Papa http://tangopapadecals.com/index.htm
The Launch Pad www.the-launch-pad.com
Thrustline Aerospace www.thrustlineaerospace.com
Top Flight Recovery http://www.topflightrecoveryllc.com
Trident RocketWorks http://www.trident-rocketworks.com/i...tpage&Itemid=1
True Modeler's Rocket Kits www.truemodeler.com/
US Rockets http://v-serv.com/usr/
Venus Model Rocketry www.venusrocketry.com

(And yes this list was stolen from that other forum, hope they don't mind. Thanks to Angelo at Sunward.)

Last edited by RandyT0001 : 10-18-2009 at 01:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2009, 11:26 AM
Green Dragon Green Dragon is offline
AL Swackhammer , power freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 1,255
Default

Great list.

some of those I had never seen before

course I don't go to other forums * gasp *

~ AL
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ye Olde Rocket Shoppe 1998-2021