Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > BARCLONE > Software
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2009, 01:27 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default Browser Issues and Tidbits

Since one of the projects still on the BARCLONE agenda is to develop a new website, I thought this might be a good place to talk about internet browsers and their peculiarities. No two browsers display a web page exactly the same, so when developing a page, one has to really develop at least five different pages, one for each of the major browsers currently being used.

I'll start this off with something I've found out about Google Chrome. This may already be common knowledge among some of you, bit I didn't notice it until today. Chrome identifies itself as "Netscape 5".

OK, I'm done for now...
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2009, 01:46 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

OK, I'm back...

Firefox 3 also identifies itself as "Netscape 5"...
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2009, 01:51 PM
Tau Zero's Avatar
Tau Zero Tau Zero is offline
Incurable SEMROC Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Posts: 1,966
Thumbs down FireFox is NOT for me!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPMcGraw
OK, I'm back...

Firefox 3 also identifies itself as "Netscape 5"...
Mozilla Firefox 2 kept "eating" my bookmarks , so I permanently deleted it from my hard drive, along with Mozilla Thunderbird.

Okay, I'm done venting. For now.
__________________
Jay Goemmer
"Centuri Guy"/"Tau Zero"
Semroc SAM #0029
NAR 86131


“Centuri fret buzz in an updated form.”
Bill “Wallyum” Eichelberger re: Estes Flutter-By
03 Sept 2014
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:00 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Round 3...

Apple Safari identifies itself as... Netscape 5...
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:05 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CenturiGuy
Mozilla Firefox 2 kept "eating" my bookmarks , so I permanently deleted it from my hard drive, along with Mozilla Thunderbird.

Okay, I'm done venting. For now.


Maybe that's why there's a FireFox 3 now...

Try Chrome. So far, it seems to be the fastest of the group. And I like the tabs better than any of the others. They just seem to work...

All three of these Netscape Clones display the pages differently from each other. It still means I have to develop a customization routine for each one... Rats!
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:13 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Opera 9.63 looks similar to Chrome, but it identifies itself as "Opera 9.63"...

At this moment, I have all five major browsers running simultaneously. Again, no two are alike!
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:17 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CenturiGuy
...Mozilla Thunderbird...


That's my mail client now, and has been since I loaded Vista. I like it, and have no issues with it. It won't import my old Outlook folders, but then, neither will Outlook Express...

Anyone know of a good import tool that doesn't require Outlook to be running, and which doesn't cost anything? Nothing feature-handicapped or -restricted, either.
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:20 PM
Royatl's Avatar
Royatl Royatl is offline
SPEV/Orion wrangler
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,250
Default

I prefer Chrome now, since they got their issues with Flash, Reader, and Silverlight straightened out, but there are many web sites that still refuse to serve to it since it appears to them as a badly outdated browser.

It also surprises and annoys me that they don't use the same bookmark system as the Google Toolbar for IE and Firefox. CHECK that, they suddenly do now, but they don't use it in the same smooth way the Toolbar does. Maybe they'll work it out in the next few weeks.
__________________
Roy
nar12605
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:31 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Now I've noticed my first real quirk...

Firefox 3 doesn't want to show my logo graphic (a simple JPG image) in the upper-most frame, while all of the others display it correctly.

Not a good start for FF3...
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:34 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Royatl
I prefer Chrome now, since they got their issues with Flash, Reader, and Silverlight straightened out, but there are many web sites that still refuse to serve to it since it appears to them as a badly outdated browser.

It also surprises and annoys me that they don't use the same bookmark system as the Google Toolbar for IE and Firefox. CHECK that, they suddenly do now, but they don't use it in the same smooth way the Toolbar does. Maybe they'll work it out in the next few weeks.


When I need to register a download with MS, they require the use of IE. Chrome won't work with Windows Update, for example...

Is Chrome releasing a new version? I'll have to go check that out...
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ye Olde Rocket Shoppe © 1998-2018