Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > The Doctor is In! > Ask the Doctor
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 07-29-2010, 04:18 PM
Craftsman

Default I think I really boo boodbed-big time

after applying 2 coats elmers wood filler to my hornet fins I wanted to just seal them off with Zissner wax free 100% shellac seal coat. I airbrushed cut with denatured alcohol and obtained a gorgeous finish. Well, its been 24 hours since the application, which was kept in our cool dry home and later moved into the Sun this AM. It feels smooth but not like a slippery clear coat I'm used to. Did I over apply this stuff or am I screwed and wait several weeks for drying? I should have just put on a third very thinned coat of the elmers and primed but NOOOOO, I needed to have my airbrush fix, which I love to do. Take care, Jeff

P.S I'm a total beginner when it comes to wood working but quite skilled in plastic model building-can you tell?????
Old 07-29-2010, 05:22 PM
Master Modeler

I am not familiar with the properties of shellac.

It may be that you need to compound or wet sand it. But again, I'm not used to the stuff.

Are you planning on painting it? Or just leaving it "au natural?"
Old 07-29-2010, 06:24 PM
Craftsman

Hi and thanks for the reply:
Yes, going to paint over them and I've got some really great fine rubbing compound too. I'm just going to have to wait a few well, what evers and check it. I know it sounds kinda simple but its really my first rocket in over twenty years. Take care, Jeff
Old 07-30-2010, 05:12 AM
Old BAR

Shellac is a PINTA ! There are so many other finishes out there that work better. My suggestion is to sand down smooth (wetsand, if you like) and prime with Duplicolor auto primer and sand some more. Then, I think, you'll have something better with which to work. We've all been there at some point! Learning is FUN!
Good luck and let us know how she turns out!
Allen