Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Weather-Cocked > FreeForAll
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 09-13-2012, 12:42 PM
Master Modeler

Default Help needed with Creating Open Rocket\Rocksim file.

I have very little experience using either of these programs so I am looking for someone who would be willing to spend time creating a file I can read using Open Rocket. I am building a high power rocket for someone that is completely different and I’m not sure if either of these programs can model such a rocket. The attached image is the model I am almost done building. This is a 60” tall model and will be powered by a 38mm J motor. Its weight will be around 12 lbs. RTF. It would be great if it didn’t need any fins but I’m pretty sure I will need to add some fins; I’m planning on adding 5 removable fins. I could simply throw a couple pounds of lead in the nose and add big fins to the rear but it would be kind of nice if I had a better idea where the model should balance. The other thing I could do is make a smaller scale model but I’m running out of time before I need to deliver this model.
I will supply complete dimensions to the person who is willing to help me out on this.

Thanks

John Boren
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:  Image.jpg
Views: 125
Size:  37.4 KB  
Old 09-13-2012, 01:19 PM
Master Modeler

John,

There may be a Rocksim expert here who is willing to take this on (it's not me) but that's beyond the capabilities of Open Rocket as it exists now I think.
AMA 42160
KG7AIE
Old 09-13-2012, 06:52 PM
BARCLONE Rocketry

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEC
"...that's beyond the capabilities of Open Rocket as it exists now I think..."