Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Work Bench > Building Techniques
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 11-22-2013, 02:19 PM
Junior Rocketeer

Default Question about Canting Fins

Hello all,

I am not sure if this is the right place to ask this question, so my apologies if this should be posted somewhere else on the forum.

I found the plans for Custom Rocket's Landviper over on the rocket plans side of the site. http://plans.rocketshoppe.com/custo...01/cus10001.htm.

The Landviper is a 3 motor cluster, housed inside a BT-60. It has 6 trapezoidal fins, all located at the aft end of the rocket.

Before I go much further, I would like to say that I am a rather novice rocketeer with a few packaged rockets built and a scratch built Estes Blackhawk made from cardstock under my belt. However, I think this would be a fun rocket to try an experiment to induce spin with fin cant. Now that I think about it, a 3 motor rocket may not be the ideal choice for an experiment, as it'll run about 10 bucks a launch for motors alone. I know spin can be done with added fin cant tabs, but I want to build it into the rocket design.

I started playing around with the trial Rocksim program to get an idea about the max height at apogee (since that is the limit of the launch simulation in the trial version). But, Rocksim wont allow me to put the 3 motor cluster inside a BT-60. It will allow it to fit inside a BT-70, which I did and put in a transition from BT-70 to the nose cone which I left with the original ellipse BNC-60MS on Uncle Mike's. Rocksim put the apogee at almost 1500 feet with C series motors. I did not see if there was any way of adding fin cant to the design in Rocksim.

So, with that, I have a couple of questions regarding the fins and the angle needed to impart spin.