Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Weather-Cocked > FreeForAll
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 04-18-2016, 08:11 PM
Master Modeler

Default R/C Drones

Today an r/c drone was reported to hit a commercial aircraft as it was landing at Heathrow Airport, London, England. I knew it was a matter of time before this would happen. Well, it has now. On another group, (R/CGroups) a (explicitve) thinks that birds are more of a bother than drones. I gave that person an earful. This person has only ten post and thinks it's an expert. I'm guessing this person owns a drone and does this sorta thing for laughs! Bulltiki!
Drones have their purpose in the military but should be fully regulated in civilian hands.

I'm a certified pilot and was made fully aware of jumpers and rocket launches in my flying area. I will not fly today because of the idiots flying drones targeting my aircraft to down it for their enjoyment!

Imbeciles!
Old 04-18-2016, 10:11 PM
BAR

WHOA... way to kneejerk reaction there...

I agree that drones should be excluded from regulated airspace, like military installations and in the approach and landing patterns for major airports, just like for rocketry. I don't think any REASONABLE person has a problem with that. BUT, that doesn't mean that the private pilots and commercial aircraft own and can retain sole use of all airspace "everywhere" and can exclude or regulate anybody else out of existence.

Simple fact is, birds DO pose a significant threat, probably just as great if not greater than the average drone, because of the mass of the bird versus the mass of most civilian drones, and the speed that large birds can and usually do fly versus that of drones. I would also comment on the unpredictability of bird flight and rapid maneuvers birds are capable of, but that's probably a wash with the stupidity of a drone pilot flying in a commercial traffic pattern.