Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Weather-Cocked > FreeForAll
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 01-28-2016, 05:04 PM
BAR

Default 30th anniversary of Challenger disaster today (Jan 28)

Today is the 30th anniversary of the loss of the space shuttle Challenger on the morning of January 28, 1986, with the death of all seven astronauts aboard.

Time sure flies... I was a high school freshman when Challenger happened. I had skipped school that day to get the fields worked up in preparation for planting cotton a couple months later. I remember it was a gorgeous, sunshiny day, much like we had here today, but a bit chilly... I was bundled up pretty good on our old open-station Ford 6600 tractor running the hipper across the field and daydreaming. I knew a shuttle was scheduled to lift off that morning and wanted to see it, but I had a lot of work to get done.