Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > The Doctor is In! > Ask the Doctor
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 06-02-2013, 03:57 PM
Junior Rocketeer

Default Clustering ignition question

As long as I have been flying rockets,since 1970,I've never attempted but always wanted to try clustering. In the last few years,I've built an Estes Scrambler,Ranger,and Cobra,and acquired a Sunward three-engine cluster clipwhip. Now,the question I have is,with this clipwhip,can you use a six volt system or do you need to still have twelve volts,and if so,what's a good way to make a twelve volt system. It would be great if you could purchase a ready-made twelve volt system. Thanks for any help,folks.

-Steve
Old 06-02-2013, 04:07 PM
I wish I was a spaceman!

If you use Quest Q2G2 igniters you might get away with 6 volts,(test first) but Estes igniters will need 12V

You Can't break the laws of physics but they can break you. Christine McKinley

Dale Greene

Mentor, Penn Manor Rocket Club

VISIT SPAAR
2010 Calder Cup
The Old West
2009 Calder Cup

" Speaking the Truth in times of universal deceit is a revolutionary act. " George Orwell
Old 06-02-2013, 05:45 PM
Master Modeler

Use whatever you want when launching single engine rockets but when clustering you want a power source that will instantly and effortlessly fire all of your igniters at the same time and that is a car battery.

Randy
www.vernarockets.com
Old 06-02-2013, 05:52 PM
BAR 13790

you can wire two - 6V batteries in series to get 12V or buy 12V battery, such as for a garden tractor or motorcycle. You do need to test your system. All ignitors need to go almost immediately
Old 06-02-2013, 06:50 PM
Master Modeler

I have been using Quest Q2G2 igniters with a six volt system and a sunward clip whip for 3 engine clusters with very good results.

The safety key will set these off so I hold the button down and insert the safety key to launch.