Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Ye Olde Rocket Forum (http://www.oldrocketforum.com/index.php)
-   Projects (http://www.oldrocketforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   sunward screamer (http://www.oldrocketforum.com/showthread.php?t=5931)

cjp 09-28-2009 02:51 PM

sunward screamer

Hi Everyone,I'm new to this fourm.Just got back into model rockets after 38years.That's when I was in high school.But joined a local club 6 weeks ago and have built 5 rockets,the last being the Estes Big Daddy.We got rained out this past weekend(North East Ohio Weather),so I'll have to wait till Oct.10 when we get the flying feild again.I'm going to build a Sunward Screamer cluster next.That should be fun.Anyone build one of these?I'm thinking of putting a streamer on it instead of the parachute that comes with it.I'm also going to install a baffle kit.Any thoughts on how large of a streamer I should use?The rocket is 21" tall and about 2oz. without the 2 engines.I'm thinking maybe a 3x30 inch nylon streamer.Any imput would be welcomed.

bob jablonski 09-29-2009 08:35 AM

Hi. Welcome to the fun world of rockets. With the Screamer I would keep the parachute. With the 2 oz you have to figure in the 2 empty motor cases and if you add a Baffle (more wt.).
Mr. Bob
Starlight Dude
www.starlightrocketry.com

cjp 09-29-2009 07:41 PM

screamer rocket kit

I checked their website and found that the rocket is 3.75oz.Your right about keeping the chute.We fly on a 140 acre farm,but there are trees and powerlines near by. That"s why I use streamers on my smaller rockets.I might go a size down in parachute.I made my own chutes Sunday,a few 16" and a 24".Hope to start building the rocket this weekend.First time with a cluster and a canted one at that.Also never had to cut the bodytube before.But I'll take my time with this one.Thanks for your insite.

STRMan 09-29-2009 08:04 PM

Keep the stock chute but make an over sized spill hole in it.

Sunward 09-29-2009 10:11 PM

Welcome back to rocketry. Nice kit :)