PDA

View Full Version : RMS-24/40 Motor Aft Closure

JasonT
07-12-2009, 11:28 AM
Good afternoon.

I am just getting started using RMS motors. My first attempt resulted in one perfect maiden flight, and the following flight a disaster for the rocket.

I purchased the same kit, Aerotech Initiator and I had basically the same exact results :(

This time, the aft closer on my motor flew/blew off of the motor 20 feet into the flight. The propellant grain, o-rings, nozzle, etc, all blew out of motor and the rocket crashed to the ground 10 feet from the pad. Luckily the rocket is intact, save for one of the 3 fins.

Here are some pics:
Picture 1 (http://www.flickr.com/photos/40384190@N04/3713586440/)

Picture 2 (http://www.flickr.com/photos/40384190@N04/3713586414/)

Picture 3 (http://www.flickr.com/photos/40384190@N04/3712776821/)

Has anyone had this experience? I am 100% sure that the aft closure was screwed in to the stopping point, so I am at a loss on how to resolve this for my 5 attempt at RMS.

Thanks in advance!

Shreadvector
07-12-2009, 02:32 PM
If therer was a void (bubble) inside the proellant grain, when the flame front hit it, there would have been an increase in burning surface and increase in pressure. Since the 24/40 casing has very fine threads and operates right on the edge of it's limits, a slight overpressure can easily blow the aft closure off. Also, if any debris clogs the nozzle during burn it can lead to an overpressure. How can you determine if this might have been the case? Simple: look at the propellnat grain and delay grain. They will both stop burning when there is a sudden and total loss of pressure. If there is a cavity in the propellant grain, then that may have been a bubble. The delay should be only semi-burned from the lower end with the top immaculate.