PDA

View Full Version : Typical LPR Parachute thickness?

vigilante
12-23-2011, 05:27 AM
Title says it. I'm just curious what the typical "mil" thickness of an Estes or Centuri LPR plastic parachute is.

gpoehlein
12-23-2011, 07:47 AM
Easy enough to find out - I just mic'd an Estes 12" chute. Four layers measured .005", so that would make one layer equal to 1.25 mil (a mil is 1/1000 inch or .001 inch). Don't have any Centuri chutes around to check them, but they should also be in the 1 to 1.5 mil range.

Greg

foamy
12-23-2011, 09:08 AM
I have an original Centuri chute from '69 that came (obviously) with my little Javelin. I'm no expert on polyethelene thickness and I don't have a micrometer, but I'd have to agree with gpoehlein. I did have to deal with various thickness-es of the stuff at a job I had many years ago and the parachute material is about as thin as it gets, if things haven't moved past my experience.

Quite a nice 'chute as plastic ones go. Hard and stiff red string for the shrouds and it was all tied up and ready to go when I took it out of the bag. Nice design on it too.

tbzep
12-23-2011, 09:47 AM
At the opposite end of the spectrum in thickness is the old Quest chutes. The white plastic had yellow and red print. They were thick and very stiff. They needed a good dose of powder, last minute packing, and a virgin blood sacrifice to ensure complete opening at ejection.

jharding58
12-23-2011, 01:52 PM
The average traditional garbage bag. Not the new fangled "less plastic" bag.

vigilante
12-23-2011, 03:17 PM
The average traditional garbage bag. Not the new fangled "less plastic" bag.Thats kinda the direction I was going. I wanted to experiment with several "black" chutes to see how well they show up at higher altitudes. Looking at garbage bags at wally world I've noticed thickness's from .07 to 1.5 mil. Wasn't sure if the real thin stuff would hold up and not sure if the real thick stuff would open up. :)

Thanks all for the answers.

gpoehlein